Surfing the Inner-net

I like to meditate.  I wish I had one of those machines that measure brain waves, to see which states I actually manage to achieve.

I don’t know how it is for other people, but when I’m meditating, it kind of feels like an engine; that I’m the engine, and when I begin to meditate, I’m on the highway.  You know, that speed when you set your cruise control.

At first it feels as though I become aware of my current speed, like glancing at the speedometer, so to speak.  As I continue, sometimes it feels like I simply turn off cruise control, and begin to coast, gradually slowing down.  If it’s a short session, that’s about the extent of it most of the time.

During longer meditation sessions, something else happens.  As I ‘coast’ to slower speeds, at some point, I feel a ‘downshift’ in my consciousness where my body ‘drops’ into an even deeper relaxation, and at the same time, my consciousness feels like it ‘shifts’ into a different gear.

If I allow myself to shift low enough, I often fall asleep.  This irritates me, because sleeping is not what I want to do, and I rarely, if ever, recall my dreams, so I don’t gain any benefit from it, save having a little more energy due to my nap.  I’m not sure how to prevent the switch from meditation to sleep… it happens without my knowledge.  I often hear instructions about not letting yourself get too comfortable, but if I can’t get comfortable, if I constantly have to hold my head up, my spine straight, my hands on my knees… I can’t relax.  I feel constant tension; especially in my neck and shoulders.

If any of you readers have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

Sometimes I wish I could meditate all day.  If you’ve ever started surfing the web, and look up to find two or three hours have gone by… it’s like that, except I’m surfing the Inner-net. (Hold that thought, while I rename my blog post!)

Much like the internet, I never know where my Inner-net will take me.  I search it for information, for help, for fun… and sometimes I finish my ‘surf session’ happy with what I found, while other times I’m frustrated because I couldn’t find what I was looking for.

It doesn’t really feel like there was an actual point to this post, other than to share what was on my mind.

What about you? What do you experience when you meditate? Has your experience changed over time, with practice?  I would love to hear about your experiences!   Feel free to post in the comments OR create a post on the topic on your own blog, and link to this post.

8 thoughts on “Surfing the Inner-net

    1. There are immense benefits to meditation… especially in your situation (caregiving)… even five minutes a day will have a positive impact. (It may take you a while to notice, but if you make it a daily habit, after a while you will notice the difference in yourself when you don’t do it!)

      And thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Love the analogy of downshifting! Perfect way to describe it. As for what meditation is like for me, I don’t do too much sitting meditation. Most of my sessions are active – cleaning, painting, walking, etc. I find that when I have a easy task to do that doesn’t call for much mental focus, I have much more of an ability to reach a state that I’m able to simply observe my thoughts. I will also say that I practice self-hypnosis too, which also gives me something to focus on while I allow my body to relax. So I have this alternating practice of being between calm mind, active body and active mind, calm body – though in the latter my mind isn’t so much active but more focused instead. I would eventually like to get more into sitting meditation and bridge the gap between these two states. I think something like kundalini yoga could help me start moving in that direction, though I’d have to wait until I’m in an area where there is a reputable instructor. One day I say! 🙂 I wish I had a suggestion for your issue with falling asleep! Might be something to look into – I’m sure there are plenty of resources online.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for replying, Kayla!
      I must admit, I’m impressed that you are able to achieve a meditative state while ‘doing’, although the closest I might be able to relate would be a walk through the woods in the snow… that’s pretty high up on the ‘bliss’ ladder for me.
      I would love to incorporate painting into a meditation practice! I just have trouble pulling the paints out to paint for painting’s sake… so I don’t want to attach it to meditation, and then use that as an excuse to procrastinate with both meditation AND painting!
      The only time I seem to be able to still my mind and ‘downshift’ is when I still my body, too. But of course, the goal is to be able to enter that state at will, regardless of what I’m doing or where I am… but I have a long way to go for that. At least the journey is enjoyable!

      Like

  2. Great analogy! I use meditation a lot too but i too can’t keep the noise out for too long since i have to get to work at some point. But even during working hours i do find a way to meditate through the process.
    My technique is from Ekhart Tolle and his book “The Power of Now”. He tells you to watch your thoughts by asking “what will my next thought be?” and then wait. It usually takes time for your mind to process another thought because it is what it does; the opposite of what you want it to do.
    I love your post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

