Audience or Tribe?

Who do you write for?

I got to talking to my new friend Sophie (hopelessblog – she’s a new blogger, go show some love!), and I realized why this blog seems so different from my previous blogs.  I finally know who I’m writing for.

All my previous blogs, I’ve been wanting to find my tribe, but I’ve been writing for an audience.  This time, I’m writing for myself, and allowing my Tribe to find me.  It’s an entirely different kettle of fish.

I don’t spend a lot of time ‘seeking’.  I don’t go on the reader and search for people to ‘beckon’ over to my blog with commentary or likes, etc, I just… be.  I write.  I reply.  I search for posts on the reader about topics that I figure I’ll be writing about, or have written about, or that I will never write about, but catch my eye.  I comment when I have something to say, not expecting a reply or visit from it.

When I blogged for numbers, I was looking for ‘fresh meat’ every day.  I spent more time fishing for new followers– throwing lots of spaghetti on the wall, waiting for something to stick– than I spent actually writing.  Not because there’s something wrong with this method.  It’s a tried and true, labor-intensive process that just didn’t work for me… because I never wanted an ‘audience’, I wanted a tribe.

I want to support and be supported.  I want to connect.

I’m not going to sit here and pretend that I never went looking for readers.  Of course I did.  My first 10 or so readers were found the ‘traditional’ way.  Either I went to find them, or they found me (‘Welcome’ and ‘Uncategorized’ posts are most often the terms by which new blogs/bloggers are found by experienced bloggers looking to build their audiences, from my understanding).  The difference is, I wasn’t searching for people who were new to pad my numbers, I was searching for terms like, ‘Law of Attraction’, and ‘Divine’, and ‘Spirituality’.  I was searching for people who are more likely to connect with me on a personal level.

Once the first ten followers happened, though, I only search for ‘new’ blogs when I’m on WP and I’ve written a post or two, replied to all my comments, and read the posts written by those whom I follow, and checked out the blogs of my new followers.  I don’t make finding more readers my goal, I want connected readers.  I want involved readers.  I want deep thinkers and free spirits.  I also want the curious and those who don’t agree with me (as long as we can all remain polite).  

True connection takes time.  You can write for the masses, but then you have to deal with the masses.  I would overwhelm myself in the past, trying to be everything for everyone.  I don’t have the time or the energy to do that anymore.  I’m too busy.  Life holds too much for me.  

There’s nothing wrong with writing for an audience.  I just don’t seem to be able to be general enough.  Or focused enough?

Either way, this new approach to writing is both freeing and apparently less stressful for me, so I hope you all enjoy it!

PS- sorry it’s been a while.  Summer.  I’m actually doing stuff! (For once!)

10 thoughts on “Audience or Tribe?

  1. I like that post. It looks like you are slowly moving into alignment with your own style and uncover who you are as a writer and as a blogger. Everything falls into place as we fall into place. But you know I used to be like you. I had no clue who I was blogging for until I realized how blogging was healing and helping me become my greatest version.

    I used to read bloggers who were so opened about their personal experience and struggles and think to myself “Pff… I’m not an open book” but then I realized it was because I was scared to open up and to let go as well. When I started to release resistance and just follow the flow, I found a certain flow and merged with it. Then at one point it became clear to me that it was already all part of me. Just a hidden part I didn’t want to expose. Authenticity and somehow “rawness” always win at the end of the day. Don’t be so hard on yourself! You’re doing good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 💜💜💜 This is great! I have never managed to write for an audience. Oddly, this newest blog has garnered more of a following than some I’ve had for years. I don’t get it. As a follower, I sometimes fail. Am glad when I can get caught up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You *never* fail as a follower!

      I like to look at followers (and myself AS a follower to others) as being exactly what you need, when you need it. Sometimes, that means you only show up once a month, once a day, or sometimes, once a year (I was going to say ‘decade’, but I’ve not had any blog going for quite that long, lol). Sometimes, we are in a state where the Universe uses US to help someone else when they need it most, plus, binge-reading on favorite blogs is lots of fun! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

