In The Mix

So, Ive been having a few ideas pinging around in my head lately.  One is writing a book, but what blogger isn’t, right?

No, the idea that’s really exciting me is an idea to develop a women’s retreat, where we focus on being women; on our bodies, our minds, and our spirit.  I’ve started looking around for potential locations, begun speaking to potential guest speakers, developing ideas for activities, etc.

It’s not the planning I’m concerned about, though.  To be honest, I can’t get more than 2 people to have dinner with me, much less dozens of women who would pay to attend the workshop I put together.

It’s not that I don’t think the event would be fun.  In fact, I think it will be amazing.  I just don’t know how to convince everyone else how great it’s going to be!

Do any of my readers have experience or tips in this area that they’re willing to share?

Would any of my readers be interested in learning more about this workshop/retreat as it develops? (Most likely it will be held in Virginia or a neighboring state.)

Have you ever put on or attended a workshop/retreat?  What did you like best?  What areas were lacking?  What made the workshop… enticing?  Exciting?  Valuable?

All feedback is welcome.

I feel like I should specify that this workshop will not be featuring myself.  I’m not a speaker, I will simply be the Master of Ceremonies and an attendee.  This workshop is for ME as much as anyone else.

If you’re interested in following the progress of the event, or even interested in possibly attending the event, let me know.  

I don’t even know why I’m making this post, to be honest, since everything is still so… nebulous… but I felt a nudge to put it out there, so, here it is.  

Your move, Universe. 

17 thoughts on “In The Mix

  1. If you want to write a book, just do it… a word a sentence a day, a paragraph a day, a page a day… It’s feasible if you don’t discourage.

    With that being said, I’ve never been to a workshop but been thinking about attaining one. The one person who comes to mind right now is Teal Swan. She got her own style which is the first key. She’s been doing that for quite a few years. I think that`s another important key… dedication and persistence. She has a well established audience on YouTube and also on her blog. She holds few retreats a year. Many others do so as well, but she’s the only one who comes to mind right now… In my understanding of things, workshops have ‘themes’ which they focus on etc.

    I think all your ideas are good. And a woman retreat would be nice. Don’t be so concerned about reaching out to people. There will always be people…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What I forgot to say Amanda, never despise small beginnings… I know in the era we live in right now technology and social media make success appear to be overnight but behind the scenes they’ve been working hard for months, years etc.

      It’s tough to establish a culture, let alone a profitable venture. One key is to start, don’t stay stuck in the “how is it going to happen?” Let the Universe handle the hows. That’s not our job. What they won’t tell you is that people who made it, didn’t know how it was going to happen but they knew it would (I listen to motivational speech everyday lol). A lot of successful people didn’t have the mean nor the connections nor the experience but they made it happened anyway. It’s in the doing of things that we find alignment because it sends a message to open doors.

      Another key that makes people connect is individuality. It does not matter if only 2 people show up in your first workshop. Connect with the 2 there. If they had a lot of fun, they will bring more people the next time then before you know it, you have a 100 people showing up and paying you for it. Keep it a consistent thing, take feedback, make it better, redefine, refine, etc.

      Kris will be there for sure lol… πŸ˜‰

      And me well, I would need to fly to you lol. But I can help from a distance, I told you I work in I.T right? I am really resourceful in that department ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Aww… thank you, my friend! The support means a lot. Truly. I wasn’t aware that Teal did workshops.

      I started listening to her at the beginning, and I liked her at first, but she’s SO freaking DEPRESSING. But maybe that’s just me, lol. I like her, but she’s not my *favorite*. But I do know of her.

      And I know SO much of the things I want to do are *feasible*, if I can learn how to make myself actually DO it! Ince I figure that bit out… y’all better watch out! Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh… my dream is to own my own retreat center (right here in the USofA… of course, the Universe may have other plans, lol). I wasn’t aware she had her own center. Interesting!

        And I’m not really concerned with numbers, just with quality.

        Funny, I’ve been having lots of ‘in the future’ ideas coming to me, and they’ve all been similar to the ones I’ve had my whole life, but they’re more… connected. Not by much, but it seems less disjointed… like it’s all… coming together :-O lol

        I don’t want to be the one up in front of people, though, lol. Not at this point. For now, I just want to learn & grow, and bring together other women who desire to learn and grow.

        But for now, as I said, it’s just in the contemplation stages. I’m actually pretty excited to see where it’s heading! Who knows where the idea (and I) will be, when it is ready to come to fruition!

        Whee!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s a nice dream to have. Any dream really. Sounds like you are slowly breaking through… But you know, coming from my experience starting businesses, we never feel ready… Everything is created in the midst of momentum. I speak for me, but surrounding myself with lots of “go getta” it’s almost a fact. There is no perfect time. If you receive those ideas now, it’s because they are meant for you to act on them now. There is no “future” there is only NOW. So if you receive them now, it means it’s time… Are you kidding? Especially if you’ve been receiving them all your life. The reason why they seem to be more prominent and connected now it’s because the signal is getting louder and stronger because it’s trying to get you to do something lol. Just my take. I don’t know you, I could be really wrong πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I would normally agree with you… but it’s difficult to explain in writing.

        The best I think I can do is to say that while the ideas I have are similar to the ones I had even as a child, they’re also different… in detail. It feels like everything is beginning to REVEAL itself.

        And I’m taking action, just small actions, as the time seems right. I have a habit of rushing into things half-cocked, so I’m trying to walk the tightrope of ‘prepared’ but not ‘analysis paralysis’. πŸ™‚

        Since I tend toward the latter, having friends who are encouraging action is helpful! Thank you! An excellent birthday gift! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you, my friend! It’s been an amazing day! Just me & my cat, I’ve been meditating all day. I’m thinking about going to take a nice long bath, then cook a simple meal for my husband and I, and maybe watch a movie on TV. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Those kind of birthdays are often the best. Spent many days just like the one you have. Whatever is in store for you, I know it’s great πŸ™‚

        And cats are also amazing spirits. I live with a senior. Almost 14 years old lol. Still standing strong although she sleeps most of the time but still full of energy!! What’s its name? πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Woman, I know that feeling! They do… girl things! O.o

        Women are strange. Hell, I AM one, and they confuse me! Lol!

        But we are SO strong and awesome, when we are whole, healed and confident. THOSE women are balm to the soul… THOSE women don’t scare me, they make me feel stronger.

        That’s the type of woman I want to become, the type of woman I want to be friends with, and the kind of woman I want to help other women see within themselves.

        πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

